top of page

//Interview// Betty Moon

From Toronto to LA, Betty Moon is a name that is on everyone's lips,From playing iconic venues such as the Viper Room to releasing her 9th studio album 'Hellucinations' and cementing her place in a new decade of music,there is more than meets the eye of Betty Moon.

'Runaway' is your most recent single, what is your favourite line from the track and why?

“You can let me down, Thinkin’ I would drown, But I’m gonna figure it out”. I have my own story behind the song but I do love having the listener interpret it their own way. Music is our way of expressing our emotions, and the listener always appreciates lyrics and a story that is relatable.

For most of us, we’ve been in a situation where a person or situation is so overwhelming that you think to either run from it or simply stay in the situation without hope of change. In these moments is when you need to push back in a mindful, healthy way and stand up for what truly makes you happen. Sometimes that can be really unforgettable, but in the end you’ll feel like a badass and be a better person overall. It’s sort of a grab the bull by the horns when things start to get rough type of song. What has the reaction to the track been so far?

People have loved it, I know in reviews and from fans they have told me the song really vibes with them. I’m not trying to write music for the club or radio, and really just do this because I love it and couldn’t see myself doing anything else. All my lyrics are honest, and the music comes from a place of doing it because it feels natural. I think that’s why Runaway and other songs off Hellucination are doing so well. What is the best advice you've been given by someone?

“Put in the work, and be patient”. Rome wasn’t built in a day, and it seems a lot of artists these days are seeking instant gratification in their music careers. I’ve always seen progress and laying bricks one at a time, and really putting a lot of care into it without being lazy along the way. I’m thankful I grew up in a music industry during a time where Facebook, Spotify and iTunes weren’t even around because it taught me the art of grassroots marketing and learning a variety of critical skills in music. Although it's a hell of a lot easier to get ahead now, it’s still important to take the time to practice your skills and learn along the way. What is one difference you found when working in the Toronto and LA music scenes?

The LA scene is just a lot bigger, and takes longer to navigate. I feel like when I moved to LA for the first time, I at least had the experience of having great relationships and victories in Toronto. I can only imagine someone moving from out of town into LA with none, it’s a lot to take in and can be overwhelming but exciting. I think the one thing that stood out in Toronto was the authenticity of the people, it had more of a “small town vibe” and people had less of an agenda. In LA I think the energy and standards feel like you are networking and you must be on your A Game at all times. Like, don’t get caught dressing frumpy even at Target, cause you never know who you’re going to see there haha.

Hellucination is your 9th album, anything special for the upcoming 10th?

I’m in the studio right now putting the final touches on more songs than my brain can handle at the moment. I feel like with every album I personally evolve in so many ways and I hope the listener can hear that as well. I have about 20 songs pre-produced, in mixing and the challenge will be deciding which ones to keep and which to save for another time (or for the archive). I have a couple songs for singles in mind already, and I think you’re really going to be surprised with these hooks! What have you got planned for 2020?

I have a goal to produce more content for my music and brand than ever before. From music videos, to photo shoots and creative lifestyle content from my travels. I really want to share what life is like behind the scenes and give my listeners something fresh to take in monthly. Not sure of any shows or festivals, but at this point I want to release as much studio content and video/photo content as possible.

'Runaway' is out now on all platforms,you can click below to stream on spotify.

Follow Betty Moon on Social Media @bettymoonmusic

Recent Posts
Featured Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page