top of page

ZEALS-Interview

Every band has their story and Zeals is a unique one.I interviewed Harissen (vocals/guitar) about odd gig experiences,being compared to Lower Than Atlantis and The 1975 and collaborations with other artists.

Who got you into music?

All of our dads were heavily involved with and into music!

How did you all meet?

I met Rob at a local Jam night, eventually I plucked up the balls to ask him to start a band. I used to work in a music shop where Toby had guitar lessons, he was so much better than me so I snapped him up!

What is the oddest experience you've had at a show or on tour?

We were on tour with The Hoosiers playing in Doncaster, from what we heard, the crowd were shouting, "your s*#t" which naturally felt a bit sour, so I felt the need to stand up for us and say 'leave it out' in some way. After the set I relayed this to Irwin of the hoosiers but to my surprise, he informed me they were actually probably shouting 'Yorkshire'. whoops.

Is there one individual or is it all of you who write the songs? What is your songwriting process?

Very diverse. Id usually write the bones on guitar with the melody and lyrics already set, then the boys sprinkle there goodness ontop, but then Rob may start a beat and the song builds from there, in this case the melody comes last.

-If you could collaborate with any band or artist alive or dead, who would it be?

One Republic would be neat, with there productiveness and our ballsy rock, that would be tasty.

Your sound has been compared to that of the 1975, would you agree or do you think there is another artist you feel you draw inspiration from?

I agree, but our songs are quite varied, we've also been compared to Don Broco, Lower Than Atlantis & Deaf Havana.

Check out their newest video for their song 'Dark Waters' off their new ep 'Ready to Fly' below:

Recent Posts
Featured Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page